chad the dad

Homemade Irish Cream

In Recipes on July 13, 2009 at 12:21 am

irishcream

Sometimes, a guy just needs to take the edge off after a long day of work, or dealing with the wife & kids. For this reason, I always have bottle of Irish Cream in the fridge. For the past  years, St. Brendan’s has been my choice, mostly because it’s made in Derry (where I lived for a short time), but also because it’s a few bucks cheaper than Bailey’s.

I got a recipe for Irish Cream last week from my friend Heidi (it was her mom’s) and was really excited about it. So much so, that I made a batch right away this morning. It tastes great! It has less bite than Bailey’s or St. Brendan’s. It also has a silkier, smoother texture than store bought versions. I find that Baileys especially, will annoyingly coat your tongue like Pepto Bismol until the ice melts.

The homemade version is super easy to make, and a fraction of the cost. Here goes the recipe:

Mix the following ingredients in a blender for 30 seconds:

1 can of sweetened condensed milk

1 pint of whipping cream (in liquid form)

1 cup of Irish Whiskey (I used Powers, but Paddy or Tullamore Dew would be other good options. Don’t pollute your Bushmills with anything other than ice….EVER!)

3 eggs

1.5 tbsp of chocolate syrup

1/4 tsp of coconut extract

Make sure to keep everything refrigerated and enjoy!!! It should keep in a sealed container in your fridge for up to 6 weeks.

Sláinte!

  1. Very nice!

  2. I have a very similar recipe, but with vanilla extract, not coconut. The coconut sounds interesting. Every year at Christmas time, I mix up a triple batch and pour in into decorative bottles and give it to the neighbors. And don’t ya know that I always get the bottles back to refill for next year.

  3. I notice an unsaid bias against the Jameson but other then that well done.

  4. Would be great if you could keep some of this at work for those really bad days when I need a drink before noon. 🙂

  5. Seriously…what do you have against Jameson? I don’t pollute mine with anything other than ice, ever, but Bushmills is for the birds. What are you, a Protestant?

Leave a Reply

