chad the dad

Sneak Peek at the 9-hole Aebleskiver Pan

In skivers on August 6, 2009 at 11:19 am
Aunt Else's 9-Hole Cast Iron Æbleskiver Pan NOW available on www.AuntElse.com

Aunt Else's 9-Hole Cast Iron Æbleskiver Pan NOW available on http://www.AuntElse.com

I’m so excited that our 9-hole æbleskiver pan is almost ready! When I say “our”, I mean Aunt Else’s Aebleskiver’s new pan. I absolutely love the fact that we’ve been able to keep the work local, and so proud that each pan is marked “MADE IN MINNESOTA, USA”. I’ve been amazed at how much we’ve learned, and after stopping to think about things I realized that it’s been in the works for a while now. Here is a little timeline:

  • After tossing around the idea of making our own pan for a couple months, we decided to officially go for it in January.
  • By the end of February my business partner Linda’s husband, Daryl had it all designed.
  • We spent a few weeks in March talking to a bunch of foundries. Most here in Minneapolis, but one as far away as Sioux Falls.
  • By the end of March, we had decided to work with Smith Foundry, located here in Minneapolis (right off of Hiawatha).
  • Under Smith’s guidance, we worked with a local pattern maker who quickly created 3D CAD drawings for us to review.
  • Shortly thereafter, in late April, Lori Writer wrote a great article about the pan for our favorite blog, The Heavy Table. The article got quite a bit of attention, people asking for the pans & when they’ be ready; there was no turning back after that!
  • Then the match plate was created.  The match plate  is the tool used to create the sand molds that eventually receive the molten iron.

    photo

    Aunt Else's match plate! Two molds can be made at a time. This is the side of the match plated used to create the cope.

  • Smith cast us a prototype pan in early June, which we felt was too heavy, so modifications were made to the design and subsequently to the match plate
  • Modifications were completed, and Smith cast another couple sample pans for us. The pans looked great to us, but the seasoned professionals at Smith recommended a couple additional minor tweaks to the match plate. The most interesting change was to increase  the size of the “gate”, or the hole into the mold which the molten iron flows through. Apparently, if the iron doesn’t flow into the mold fast enough, it cools and can cause wrinkles in the surface of the casting.
  • We met with Neil & Wendy at Smith to kick off production of the pans this week! They couldn’t be better people to work with, and I’m completely reassured that our decision to work with a local company was the absolutely the right one.
  • We will take delivery of the pans in about a week, August 14th!

I almost forgot to mention that we’ve been simultaneously working with our designer, Dan Jenstad, on a hang tag for the pan. Dan created our logo, and the packaging on Aunt Else’s Aebleskiver Mix as well. We really wanted to emphasize the fact that the pan is made locally, and also bring in key elements from the mix packaging. We totally dig what he’s created, and love his attention to detail; notice the background pattern is made up of hundreds of little 9-hole æbleskiver pans. He’s so clever!

CropperCapture[61]

*** UPDATE, 8.27.09 ***

The pans are in and selling really nicely! You can order yours on our website, www.AuntElse.com.

I had our designer Dan Jenstad, take a few professional shots of the pans and I think they turned out really well. Have a look and let me know what you think!

Top of the pan with the label attached.

Top of the pan with the label attached.

Bottom of the pan. Notice the stabilizers that allow it work on all types of stove tops; electric, gas, ceramic/glass, and magnetic induction.

Bottom of the pan. Notice the stabilizers that allow it work on all types of stove tops; electric, gas, ceramic/glass, and magnetic induction.

Our starter kit which includes the 9-hole Aebleskiver pan, Aunt Else's Aebleskiver Mix, a handle pot holder, and a stainless steel chopstick for turning the aebleskiver as they bake. The perfect gift for the cook who has everything!

Our starter kit which includes the 9-hole Aebleskiver pan, Aunt Else's Aebleskiver Mix, a handle pot holder, and a stainless steel chopstick for turning the aebleskiver as they bake. The perfect gift for the cook who has everything!

Aunt Else's logo in the handle of the pan!

Extreme close-up of Aunt Else's logo in the handle of the pan!

  1. LOVE IT! I’m so happy that things are going so well for Aunt Else’s. Good on ya! :)Loving the blog too. Thanks for sharing so many fun stories.

  2. Love it!!! Where can I get one?!
    My family makes Aebelskiver all the time, and as we get bigger it would be awesome to be able to make more at once!! You’re GENIUS!!

  3. Hi from Norway Amazed by looking at the pan. IS it possible to purchase the pan through the Internett?
    I make something called “MUNKER” – the norwegian variant of æbleskiver and could really need the bigger iron as my family and friends just love their MUNKER.

    Kind regards from Arendal (a small village on the southern tip of Norway.

  4. I just received my new 9-hole Aebleskiver pan with the Starter Kit on Saturday (perfect timing for a Danish treat on Sunday morning!). I have been very anxious for it to arrive, and I did just as the instructions said (washed it in hot soapy water, dried it thoroughly, heated it in a 400 degree F oven for > 1 hour, cooled it slowly, etc). Thanks for the Tip: the tin foil under the pan protected the oven from any runoff. I have seasoned pans before, but this was very simple, and it came out nice and shiny black.
    On Sunday morning, I used half of the mix to test it out, and…. Oh, my God! I LOVE THESE AEBLESKIVERS! I did some plain, some with Apple Slices and Cinnamon, some with Nutella, and some with Raisins and Cinnamon. I’m going to have to make the second half of the mix to taste ‘em again, because I don’t know which is my favorite! A little powdered sugar dusted on them and THEY WERE HEAVENLY!
    1) THE PAN is absolutely fantastic! It’s eight pounds of AMERICAN MADE cast iron, perfectly sized and formed. I had to turn the heat up to medium high, because the first batch stuck to the pan when it heated too slowly. Recovery went fine; I just used a wooden utensil to scrape the little bits cooked on the pan, and I was back in business. The pan was still hot and I prepped for the second batch. Using just a little oil on a pastry brush (I was a little nervous about using too much), the pan still produced a perfect sphere in 3 – 4 turns on the 2nd batch.
    2) THE BATTER MIX IS EXCELLENT! I use whole wheat flour at home all the time (a diabetic in the house), and THANK YOU, Aunt Else, for making the mix so simple and healthy (I love the Buttermilk Powder!). It wasn’t too sweet, and the proof is in the plain Aebleskiver; delicate and scrumptious! I got about 20 Aebleskivers out of the batter (half of the bag of mix), but my challenge is to try not to fill the wells too full.
    3) THE METAL CHOPSTICK works perfectly, spinning the half-round dough over. It took me only a couple of tries to make it go where I wanted it to go. They were rolling and flipping just like in the little video (http://auntelse.com). Surprisingly, the chopstick didn’t get hot.
    Thanks again, Aunt Else, for sharing your wonderful pan and mix with me!

  5. How do I get one..There is a Dutch fellow making the little pan balls as fast as he can at our little local market every sat.,and are they good.This pan cooks 9 at a time..better production..easier to keep the grand kids filled up..

  6. Hi Chad! Great meeting you in SF on Sat! I can’t stop thinking about this, since then. I love your blog too! I sent you an email about the giant takoyaki thing I promised. (including video link and info about one in Vancouver in ENGLISH!)

  7. Hai,I am from India.Your product
    9-Hole Cast Iron Æbleskiver Pan is really very nice looking because of surface finishing.I am able to feel the quality because I am also have a foundry and manufacturing kitchenware cast iron products.I am also manufacturing your same product but in round type 9 hole and 7 hole.
    Best of luck for your bright future.Reply me as you can.I am eager to see your reply.
    Thanking you.
    With regards
    Y.Rabic

  8. Are your pans still available? I wasn’t able to make the website link work.?

Leave a Reply

